A Reminder from a Free People

James Madison said that “The rights of persons, and the rights of property, are the objects, for the protection of which Government was instituted.”
Madison did not say that Government was instituted to provide services for the people, only that it was instituted to protect our rights.
So tell me then how the government is protecting my rights and property when it prevents me from fully using or disposing of my personal property as I see fit without first getting the consent of a government bureaucrat? It excessively taxes me in so many different ways that it amounts to nothing more than state sanctioned theft and to add injury to insult it then uses my hard earned dollars to fund things that I derive absolutely no benefit from such as funding abortion in Africa or propping up dictatorships around the world. It prevents me from fully exercising my God given Natural Right “to keep and bear arms” without first obtaining consent from another of the myriad governmental bureaucrats that my tax dollars support. It daily prevents me from fully living my life in freedom due to the mind boggling number of laws, executive orders, ordinances, & regulations. In case you haven’t noticed, our government is out of control!
The founders and residents of the 13 colonies revolted over a mere fraction of the abuses that Americans are daily forced to endure in this country.
America has strayed so far from its founding ideals of freedom, independence, and individual responsibility as to be near unrecognizable today to the founding ideals of our nation.
Thomas Jefferson said that “To compel a man to subsidize with his taxes the propagation of ideas which he disbelieves and abhors is sinful and tyrannical.”  
Our current manifestation of government has far overstepped its mandate and its myriad abuses of freedom amount to no more than a watered down form of tyranny.

 Steve Lynes, Sr. 

Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery?…” – Patrick Henry

Sign the Declaration of Independence, Ver 2.0

Leave a Reply

